National  Emergency Medal awarded to Tathra members

Members  of the Tathra Rural Fire Brigade have been awarded the National Emergency Medal for their efforts during the 2019-20 fire season.

His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd) Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia, presented the medal to a number of  volunteers and staff who provided sustained or significant service during the devastating fire season.

The medal is awarded to those whose service must be in the protection of lives and property or in the service of interests that are not their own and who supported the emergency response for a minimum of five days between September 2019 and February 2020

Members of the Brigade played an integral part in the firefighting response during that season, starting with out-of-area strike team deployments to the far north of the State in September 2019.

The Brigade  continued to assist other local brigades battling fires throughout the season through a range of roles, including as firefighters, communications operators (within Bega Fire Control Centre) and team leaders.

 Tathra members: Don McPhee, Geraldine Sheehan, Richard Boys, Lance Hartley (and Peter Windle) presented their medals by District Superintendent Angus Barnes